top of page

Give Things a Second Chance


To my knowledge, buying second-hand items is not common in Hong Kong, except for vintage clothing or high-end designers’ handbags, which are frequently traded at specialty resellers. When my American friends ask me why, I simply say it is the cultural difference. Wearing second-hand clothes in Hong Kong or China usually comes with a stigma, i.e. you cannot afford new clothes. Some superstitious beliefs also suggest that it may bring bad luck to people. Moreover, as a shoppers’ paradise, the clothing in Hong Kong is relatively cheap compared to other big cities. So why bother buying old clothes?

After I moved to Bloomington, Indiana, I was thrilled to find numerous thrift stores and second-hand boutiques. I was surprised to see how well the quality some of the items was, and more amazingly, the unbeatable price. I do not mind using second-hand items as long as they are clean and in good condition. That not only saves money but also the environment. When buying one pre-used item, you are actually helping to save it from going to the dumpster!

I regard thrift store shopping as treasure hunting. Let’s tour some of my favorite spots in Bloomington.

Salvation Army Thrift Store

Salvation Army Thrift Store literally opens the door of second-hand shopping to me. I first started as a volunteer in the store (for details please read my article here), and I fell in love with thrift shopping. I usually check out their book section where you can buy a paperback of your favorite author for a quarter. There is a boutique section which sells brand name or brand new clothes or shoes. I once bought a formal pant suit, a must-have item in the closet, for $9.99. Believe it or not, you can literally go green in the thrift store by grabbing some plants home for less than a dollar!

Goodwill Store

Similar to the Salvation Army Thrift Store, Goodwill store sells the donated goods for a good cause. I am particularly in favor of the arrangement of clothes; they are arranged by colors which gives shoppers an impression of tidiness and neatness. Goodwill Store is a good place to shop for home goods and holiday decorations. It is a place where I shop for Christmas cards. My husband has bought two vintage wood golf clubs for keepsake. Who says only women love thrift stores? One thing worth mentioning is the 50% off storewide sale on the first Saturday of each month. I often go on that day to enjoy the good deal.

Vintage Vogue by GW

It is an upscale version of Goodwill Store. Located in an alley, it is definitely a hidden-gem in Bloomington. This store always surprises me—you can find prom dresses or even wedding gowns at great prices. In my first visit, I bought a legendary Louis Vuitton Cherry Blossom Papillon for 19.99 USD. You may question the authenticity of the handbag, but based on the details and the quality of the leather, I believe it is authentic. When I look around the store, I often find high-end brand name products like Coach and Fendi showcased behind the cashier.

Style Encore

At Style Encore on West 3rd, you are able to sell and shop at one place! The store pays cash on the spot for gently used causal and business clothing, shoes, accessories and handbags. I have successfully sold a few pairs of poorly fitting Levis jeans for extra cash. Also, they guarantee the items they sell are of recent styles sold in retail stores within the past couple of years and in great condition. So if you are looking for clothes in style, or need inspiration for your new outfits, Style Encore will not disappoint you.

Cactus Flower

Many locals have known that Cactus Flower in Downtown is a trendy boutique, but seldom do people know there is a vintage consignment section for both sexes upstairs. Surprisingly, the store even sells second hand traditional dresses of China and Japan. Sometimes used clothes or jewelry have a story to tell, which makes them even more special. The price tag of the vintage merchandise tells a little history of the item, e.g. what material it is and which generation it is from. One afternoon I easily spent over an hour on the tiny loft to check each item out and brought home an embroidery clutch made in the 80’s and a compact mirror case, which you can no longer find in the retail store.

The thrill of second hand shopping is you never know what you will end up buying. It may be an ugly sweater for next year’s Christmas party, a keepsake to be put in the hallway, or a memory someone has forgotten.


Featured Post
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page