top of page

令你生活多姿多采的義工活動 Time to give: Volunteering in Hong Kong and the U.S.


記得我還在香港居住時,我做了一個決定,使我的人生更豐盛:這就是成為香港國際十字路會的義工。那時候,每周六或有空時,我都會在這個非牟利的機構當義工。起初我是負責把捐贈品分類,之後的好幾年 ,我都在它們的公平貿易咖啡店沖調咖啡。這不單令我對義務工作重新下定義,更令我認識一班來自世界各地的朋友。

Becoming a volunteer at Crossroads Foundation in Hong Kong in 2010 was a life-changing decision for me. When I was still living in Hong Kong, I volunteered at this non-profit organization every Saturday and whenever I was free. At first, I worked in the Incoming Department which helped sort the donations. Later, I volunteered in their fair trade café as a barista. Volunteering made me understand how fortunate I am to live in an affluent city like Hong Kong and I made friends with volunteers from all around the world.

當我初來美國的時候,有一天到市內吃飯,剛好途經救世軍,靈機一動,便萌生到救世軍做義工的念頭。回家後,我便立即到救世軍的網頁,查看機構的義務工作。原來它們需要青年活動義工、整理聖誕捐贈玩具的幫手、辦公室以及舊物店的助理。我對舊物店的工作蠻有興趣,而且猜想工作時間應該會比較彈性;還可以和顧客和其他義工交流。第二天,我便打電話到救世軍查詢。果然,我得到的回覆是在舊物店當義工是不用事前通知的,只要在舊物店的營業時間,就可隨時去幫忙。另外,職員電郵了一份簡單的表格給我填寫,包括個人以及緊急聯絡人的資料和一些注意事項,他告訴我只要第一天當義工時交給舊物店的經理便可以。

When I first came to Indiana, I went online to check for volunteering opportunities. One day, we drove pass the Salvation Army and I decided it would be an ideal place for my first volunteering experience in the U.S. I later found out the Salvation Army has the need for volunteers in multiple aspects, e.g. youth group organizers, donations sorters, office assistants and thrift store helpers. I was interested to help out in the thrift store, thinking the working hours would be far more flexible and the job nature would be interesting. The application process was very simple. I was asked to fill out an application form and hand it in to the thrift store manager on my first day of volunteering.

我在舊物店的工作,主要是把市民捐贈的衣服、家庭用品、書本和玩具等分類,之後把貨品放在架上。有時候貨物亂了,我亦要幫忙整理貨物。因為舊物店也提供社會服務令,我第一天工作時便有一個年輕人問我要完成多少小時的服務令,我跟他說是自願來的,他顯得難以置信。之後,我看到他每當完成一個小時的工作後,都會自我鼓勵一番,我覺得很是有趣。雖然他不是自願來幫忙,但他做事一絲不苟,非常認真,更教我如何分辨男裝和女裝的牛仔褲。

The tasks in the thrift store include sorting the donations, placing them on the shelf, tidying up the goods and cleaning the store. There were some youths who worked here due to court ordered community service. When I told them I came to help on a voluntary basis, they were in disbelief. I laughed when I saw a youth cheer himself up when he finished an hour of community service. Although he was only there because of the court order, he was a hard worker and was willing to teach me how to differentiate male and female jeans.

原來在舊物店當義工,可享有購物優惠,貨品都打九折。所以很多時候,我都會在工作後買一些心頭好回家。而且,我更在舊物店認識在伯明頓的第一位朋友,她很喜歡中國和香港文化,大家更成為了好朋友。

There was 10% off for volunteers to shop in the thrift store. Therefore, I took the advantage and often shopped there. I even met my first friend in Bloomington at the thrift store. To my surprise, she likes Asian culture and has read news about Hong Kong.

除了在救世軍舊物店當義工,我也到市內的Buskirk-Chumley Theater做義務帶位員。話說一次欣賞話劇時,偶然知道劇院需要義務帶位員,於是便報名參加。那時候心想既可幫助劇院,也可免費欣賞節目,簡直一舉兩得。

Besides volunteering at the Salvation Army, I became a volunteer usher at Buskirk-Chumley Theater in Downtown Bloomington. I saw their volunteer recruitment notice when I visited the theater. It was a perfect opportunity for a show lover like me as I can enjoy the show after the ushering.

記得參加義工簡介會時,我看到有中國留學生參加。職員在簡介會介紹義務帶位員的工作,更帶我們參觀劇院和指出火警時逃生出口。當職員告訴我們每帶位兩次,便可免費換領一張門票時,我覺得很驚訝,感覺劇院沒有待薄義工。

I met a few Chinese students when I was attending the volunteering orientation at the theater. The volunteer co-ordinator explained the responsibilities of the ushers. She also gave us a tour of the theater and showed us the emergency exits. I was surprised when I was told that I could get a free show ticket after volunteering twice. I felt the theater treated the volunteers nicely.

我記得最難忘的一次帶位,是一個全場爆滿的劃位演唱會,我那時候很緊張,但幸好掛在頸項上「帶位員」牌子,背面便是坐位表,我可以隨時拿來看。而觀眾對義務帶位員的態度也很友善,並不會不耐煩,更在演唱會完結後多謝我們。

The most memorable ushering experience for me so far was the Glen Hansard's concert. It was a full house event with a lot of visitors from out of town. I was nervous as it was my first ushering of an event with assigned seats. Luckily, there was a cheat sheet of the seating plan on the back of the usher tag to make ushers’ life easier. I like volunteering in Buskirk-Chumley Theater as the audience is always friendly and shows appreciation to us. When it is not busy, I have the chance to chat with other ushers or even the crew members of the shows.

參加香港和美國的義務工作,令我豐富人生,提高溝通能力,所以我也鼓勵身邊的朋友加入義工行列。

It is a worthwhile experience to volunteer, no matter in Hong Kong or in the U.S. As the saying goes, the more you give, the more you get. I highly recommend you to sign up for a volunteer program to give back to the community.

Featured Post
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page